Appalachian to rename Raley Hall after Chancellor Peacock

Michael Bragg

Thelma C. Raley Hall will be renamed after current Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth E. Peacock in June 2014 after the Campaign for Appalachian has been completed, according to a University News release.

The name change was approved by the Appalachian State University Board of Trustees after a Sept. 27 vote.

The Campaign for Appalachian is the largest fundraising effort in the university’s history. The campaign, which launched in 2011 is set to end June 30. So far, $165 million of the $200 million goal has been raised, according to

Peacock began working at the university in 1983 as a faculty member in the Department of Accounting, according to He served as Walker College of Business dean and later interim provost and executive vice chancellor before being named Appalachian’s sixth chancellor in 2004.

Peacock announced his resignation as chancellor April 18 and said he would officially step down as soon as his replacement was named. A search committee, formed Aug. 21, is currently in the process of seeking a new chancellor for Appalachian.

Staff Reports